Arie Altena

The Anthology of Computer Art
Sonic Acts XI 2006

PDF p. 3 - 9
Includes the table of contents and the Dutch (!) text of the Editorial, the printed book contains the English translation.

Complete PDF of the book, excluding the (variable) cover. Also with the Dutch text of the Editorial. Please note that some texts might not have been corrected!

PDF cover
A PDF of one of the covers. 8 different covers were generated at the printer.

Arie Altena & Lucas van der Velden, editors, The Anthology of Computer Art, Sonic Acts XI 2006, Sonic Acts Press, Amsterdam 2006, Design Coup, 96 pages, black & white, English text, includes free Sonic Acts XI DVD, and Sonic Acts poster.

The Anthology of Computer Art is an selection of texts and images that covers the early years of computer art, and assesses its influence on the contemporary computer arts scene. It was compiled by Arie Altena and Lucas van der Velden on occasion of the eleventh Sonic Acts festival (23-26 February 2006). The 96 densely printed pages feature texts and/or images by the pioneers of computer art, including Lejaren Hiller, Iannis Xenakis, Max Bense, Georg Nees, Gene Youngblood, John Whitney, Frieder Nake, Manfred Mohr, Vera Molnar, Tony Longson and Ken Knowlton. These are supplemented by new essays written by Kim Cascone, Wolf Lieser, Greg Kurcewicz and C.E.B. Reas.


  • 7 Editorial by Arie Altena & Lucas van der Velden
  • 11 Who are the Progenitors of the Contemporary Synthesis of Software and Art? by C.E.B. Reas
  • 13 Computer Music by Lejaren Hiller Jr. (1959)
  • 15 from Free Stochastic Music by Computer by Iannis Xenakis (1965)
  • 17 images by Georg Nees (1965)
  • 29 Generative Aesthetics Projects by Max Bense (1965)
  • 31 images by Frieder Nake (1965)
  • 35 Computer Art by Jasia Reichardt (1968)
  • 37 Small Abstract Aesthetics by Max Bense (1969)
  • 43 [statement] by Georg Nees (1969)
  • 45 from Expanded Cinema by Gene Youngblood (1970)
  • 53 images by John Whitney (1961-1975)
  • 59 There Should Be No Computer Art by Frieder Nake (1971)
  • 61 Technocratic Dadaists by Frider Nake (1972)
  • 63 images by Lillian Schwartz (1972/1973)
  • 67 ‘Untitled Statement’ by Manfred Mohr (1975)
  • 69 images by Manfred Mohr (1971/1973)
  • 77 ‘Untitled Statement’ by Vera Molnar (1975)
  • 79 images by Tony Longson (1975/1978-1986)
  • 83 ‘Untitled Statement’ by Ken Knowlton (1976)
  • 85 Portrait of the Artist as a Young Scientist by Kenneth Knowlton (2004)
  • 87 Laptop Music – Counterfeiting Aura in the Age of Infinite Reproduction by Kim Cascone (2006)
  • 91 On the Resurgence of Interest in Visual Music by Greg Kurcewicz (2006)
  • 93 Digital Art: From the Viewpoint of a Dealer by Wolfgang Lieser (2006)
  • More design by COUP:

    Arie Altena